1st set of prompts DONE

I am a sucker for interesting and aesthetic prompts, because it excites me and challenges me to test the limits of my imagination. I usually make lists of random things and make poems out of them or ask random people to give me a topic. Recently (much longer than that), I have been into those “types of people” posts I see on tumblr so, I have a lot of screenshots of them saved on my phone and I’m trying to make poems out of them. First list is done, and imma show y’all and talk about them for y’all.

prompt
I deleted my picture so I just got this in pinterest, if anybody knows who made this please tell me so I can give them credits.

And I’ll just compile all finish products here.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Unless it’s not obvious, I used word to create all of those.

My Post (4)

Honey is the first type of person on the list so, it’s the first one I attempted and it took me so long since it’s a person, I should be able to show an actual person (but how?). It was around the first month of the first semester that I started this and I was just exploring K-Pop at the time, the songs stuck in my head then was “Wine” by Suran and “For Now” by Kwon Jinah and Sam Kim, and one time, as my dad picked me up to go home, I just thought, “Suran’s character in Wine sounds like someone under the Honey type”, so I started there.

As I listened though, I was more interested in Changmo’s character because at first, he’s the type to just brush off feelings and just go on casual dates and hook – ups, but as I listened, and I thought that the girl is also along that kind of character, because she’s very smart and adventurous so she would know the kind of people she’s hanging out with, I made up a story based on what I’m hearing and the atmosphere of the song sounds like a memory they hold that is more meaningful than they thought, therefore, they’re trying to forget each other but can’t, and seeing as the guy seems like the older person in the story with a lot more experience, his perception in the story is the part where I focused on (also, I was imagining it was Yoongi’s perception in an au where he still plays piano but he is the good guy bad boy type of guy).

I wanted to show little bits of the girls’ character through this poem also, to get a glimpse of Honey. So, if you read the poem, you should be able to see the good grades (I like to think she’s a senior high schooler that is just naturally smart) part with the way she just smiles when she leaves him because she knows that that is the direction they’re bound to be going.

*(Because I’m a dork), Person’s Hogwarts House: Ravenclaw (both characters)

My Post (8)

Honey had a little bit of a story line to help with my forming of the character, so, at first, I tried to do the same thing here but I was never satisfied, which is why this is the 4th poem I was able to create in the prompts despite it being 2nd in line.

At the time, having a song to help wasn’t a big deal yet, but, when I decided not to follow the order of the list and just write the second poem, I found that music (and the lyrics) is a big influence for me when I’m writing poems. In my mind, she is a runaway, but not the rebellious type and more the I finished high school and was able to save enough to travel type. She’s a runaway in a sense that she wants peace from her home that never really felt like home, but she has met runaways while she’s traveling.

I don’t know how “Cups” by Anna Kendrick inspired me exactly. I think it just helped straighten the vision I already had of her, it’s like, she’s gently telling the people who didn’t believe in her that when she’s gone, they’re gonna find out that they’re wrong.

Person’s Hogwarts House: Gryffindor

My Post (5)

Among all those types, I am wisteria. That could partly be the reason why I was able to create this poem fast and why the design I made for that poem is my favorite.

At first, I was hesitant to use “Through the Night” by IU as my inspiration because she’s not wearing thick sweaters in the music video (hehehe) but it really is my inspiration. I made the poem with the sentimental feeling in the song even though I don’t really know who’s she’s addressing her letters to.

Person’s Hogwarts House: Hufflepuff

My Post (9)

This took me the longest. Even when I had the idea and the song I just couldn’t put it into words that would satisfy me.

The inspiration was brought forth more specifically by the interview for the meaning behind “Sky Full of Stars” by Florence and the Machine. I honestly didn’t think I would ever go to that direction in the character’s story, but I did, yet, like I said, I WAS NEVER SATISFIED GAHH

So I decided to step back and let her be her own character.

Person’s Hogwarts House: Slytherin (I swear, I didn’t mean to complete all the houses this fast)

My Post (6)

When I wrote Journalists of the Night, I did not think that I was writing this for Ink. I was more focused on the things Ink likes and does and the “ink” was really a coincidence, I wasn’t paying attention to that. “Under Stars” by Aurora is, again, vision straightener (hehehe) in this poem. In my mind, the characters are a boy and a girl in a platonic or sibling relationship (whichever works better, I don’t know yet) who are journalists of the night. The poem already says everything, I think the song is the outcome of their observations and imaginations, sung by Aurora.

Person’s Hogwarts House: Ravenclaw (though, to me they’re still young, like below 15, so I’m still letting them grow so, I ‘m not sure about this yet)

My Post (10)

This is the most random of poems that I made because, I made exactly after I found the song for it. I switched from “Pretty Girl” to “Hand in My Pocket” to this. I wondered how I’m gonna portray an independent girl from the very beginning. I wondered how I’m going to write her confidence in a way that doesn’t remind me of myself. The biggest challenge I had (and the most fun) with these prompts are parts where I have to step away from myself and be in the body of another person. It’s fun to do cause I like making characters in my head but making them poetry is another process. I had to act like Cinderella’s slipper, jumping from a foot to another and I had to find the right spectacles to fit. But it was really fun.

I wrote this poem freely. Like a gust of wind just passed by me and BAM, I have a poem. I focused on Hailee Steinfeld’s character in the movie because that’s what I see her style is gonna be and I married unto the idea that a strong person was never as strong as they were then compared to now. Violet, in the movie, was not exactly confident, that wasn’t her character. She looks like somebody confused and still finding herself, but I like to think that she got more freedom as she grew, especially with those people around her, she’d be exposed to different ways to express herself.

Person’s Hogwarts House: Gryffindor


So what happened to my other explanations? I swear, my poems are more in depth than that, I want to turn them into real characters, actually, with a name and all. I already have outfits planned (hehehe).

I hope you like the poems!

PS: The pictures I used to design the poems in MS Word are not mine, and I’m kind of scared to post them because I’m not sure if I’m doing something wrong by posting them, so please inform me if I am, then I will take them down and replace them with a simpler design. Also, I get pictures through Pinterest, and I try to look for the original but I just get confused when I do because the links don’t look like the original, so credits to the owners of the pictures.