Spilled

It’s 9:30 in the evening at October 5, 2018 as I’m writing this. I personally, still don’t know the entire concept of my blog, I just literally write whatever I want but so far, it’s been a lot about music and how it makes me feel, the lyrics and how I love them, and, sometimes, my poetry. I am terrible at expressing my emotions straight forwardly, that’s why I have poetry to help me, I play with the words to display or mask how I’m really feeling inside, it’s weird, but somehow, I find myself when I write poetry or read it. In this post, I might talk about how I discovered poetry, the evolution of my music or my plans for this blog so far (note that I’m still going with the flow of my brain because it is a noisy poetic mess and I am really talkative, so I need to let it out).

I practiced song writing first before I dived into poetry; they’re almost the same anyway. I started practicing writing songs at 3rd grade when I noticed that the lyrics rhyme and I know that you call those poems, so my attempt at rhyming started there. The first song I wrote that I like, that has a melody very similar to a Hannah Montana song that I forgot, is entitled “Invisible”. I wrote it a time when the whole classroom is so noisy, and everybody is talking with somebody while I’m just stuck there while people are talking around me and it just popped out. The next song I wrote is a love song, a one-sided love song, it’s inspired by the lyrics of Perfect Two that everybody has been singing that time. It was the school fair and it was raining, I think I got lost and got separated from my friends so, I just sat there and thought of the song and I just played with it on my own and the lyrics evolved into a sad, one-sided love story. The original lyrics were using the word, “like”, because I knew that that wasn’t love yet but there’s no harm in pretending that it is. The third song that I liked that I wrote is entitled “Doubtful” and I have no idea what the melody inspiration was, I just woke up and thought of it. It was a Sunday morning, but I woke up and sang: “If I wake up on Monday morning…”; forgive me, I was in 8th grade. I was reminiscing the time that I comforted a classmate suffering from a break up even though I knew she was talking about me negatively behind my back, I reflected about how I don’t want to be hurt by someone like that again and how I will be more careful when trusting people. It’s a small thing in 7th grade but I still remember the feeling well that it’s kind of affected my well-being as I grew.

So those were the first three songs I wrote that I remember the most, I’ve written several (1 or 2) others but they were a bit recent. I still write songs sometimes, after all, I love to sing, the process is just whatever enters my head and I try to remember them the best that I can, I don’t write them seriously as I used to now.

My high school has an annual literary portfolio and it is the first poetry book I ever read (7th grade). I spent the ride home from school then just rhyming and it just went on. I never let it go.

So, about my plans.

*Awkward silence*

I personally like my post about BTS’ Rain and Taylor Swift’s Clean. I think I might be best when I’m being honest. So far, my list of ideas for posts have been filled with other lists of songs so I might be going with that. This might be my fangirl rant place, though I like to think that I am practicing “objectivity” in my song reviews, and I’m probably failing because I talk mostly about my feelings, so I think I’ll still go through with that. In a way, this is going to be like my diary/journal. I put a part of myself in everything, so you will be able to find them everywhere, hidden not so subtle-y inside my reflections on the songs I’m listening to and the poems that I write. I’m exploring more albums now; my list is filled with albums I haven’t heard before but I’m willing to try. I think album playlists transport you into the mind of the artist better than other playlists, because other playlists are subjective to the listener, but albums are subjective to the creator. These are their thoughts and stories and it’s like entering a new environment of some sort when I listen to them in the order that they were released so, I’m excited for that.

My schedule is based on my time though, I’m in college and though my classes are more loose than usual, I use some of my time to study by myself (aka, rewrite notes), or update my Instagram, or finish the set of prompts I challenged for myself (which, when I finish, I will be making scrapbooks of and posting here, I like talking about my poetry).

So that’s that. I don’t know if I’m really talking to anybody, but it helps to think that I am.

Have a nice day!