10 Songs: Some Favorites

  1. Little Italy – Stephen Bishop ft. Chaka Khan
  • So, apparently Stephen Bishop is a title guy, meaning he likes making up titles, and he once read the name “Little Italy” when he was looking around his landlady’s room. (That’s what I understood in this video)
  • I don’t remember the first time I heard this song but it always had a calming effect on me, like probably the feeling you get when you’re out of the city and into a garden. My mom once told me she would one day build her own restaurant and name it “Rosie’s Place” and I just wondered who Rosie is then she told me:

“Ah, but Rosie,

she’s got a rainbow round her shoulder

you better not lose her.”

  • And so begins my fascination with names in songs because they all have a story in them.

little italy

2. Plans – Oh Wonder

  • The comment section of the lyric video for this song is filled with sentiments on a long distant relationship, and, yeah, I get it, I still wrote a something that I wrote about my own sentiments in this song and when I read this, I’m happy that we had the same idea about this song.
  • At the time, my favorite Oh Wonder song was “Landslide”, but senior high school year was not a mentally healthy year for me, and while “Landslide” also gave messages of hope, “Plans” is a lot closer to how I felt then, and how I’ve been giving myself hope all the time. So “Landslide” became more of a song I would give to my friends during hard times, and “Plans” became the song more rooted to me.

plans

3. Hanap – Autotelic

  • If it wasn’t obvious in the title of the song, this is an OPM song (Original Pinoy Music), if the Brits have Honne, we have Autotelic. (hehehe, maybe I stretched it there)
  • Everything I’ve heard from Autotelic deserves to be in my chill playlist (my electronic dance music playlist that are fit for sitting beside the pool and sipping mango juice), but “Hanap” really helped the most in calming down (see the pattern). And, I don’t know if I can relate to the song or something, but to me, that’s the most romantic song in their album.
  • Check it out if you’d like and if you have questions, feel free to ask. You just have to listen first.
hanap
I got caught hehehe, yes, I use Adobe Spark

4. Seoul – RM

  • RM is…RM. He’s…..RM. He’s…RM
  • Take away the Seoul part, this can be about love in any way, that’s the beauty of it.
  • I like how Genius wrote the meaning of the song though.

Seoul

5. Bright Lights and Cityscapes– Sara Bareilles

  • This is the song that Sara couldn’t sing without crying when she was recording, and when you listen to it, the emotion is there. When I heard this song, I couldn’t not repeat it and repeat it and repeat it.
  • I didn’t know that the song is about loving someone who preferred someone else, I honestly got that just now, as I’m writing this post, and when I found out, the connection I feel with this song just became sadder.

Bright Lights and Cityscapes

6. The Human Heart – Once On This Island Revival

  • The song that Erzulie (played by the lovely Lea Salonga) sings as she blesses Ti Moune and Daniel.
  • I have not watched the musical, but this song makes me cry.

The Human Heart

7. Sweet Child O Mine – Captain Fantastic Cover

  • I may have rolled my eyes when I heard that this was their mother’s favorite song, but I smiled when they played their version, it is only then that I saw the poetry in that overplayed song.

Sweet Child O Mine (1)

8. Times Are Hard For Dreamers – Amelie the Musical

  • This is the song Amelie sings as she begins to uncover the world around her.
  • If I were to audition as myself for anything (and I did once), I would sing this (and I did) simply because out of all the “I want” songs in theatre (is this an “I want” song?), I can relate to this one more than anything.

Times Are Hard for Dreamers

9. Tonight I’m Getting Over You – Carly Rae Jepsen

  • True to the title, this is a post-break up song about moving on. If I had known I would grow to love Carly, I think I’d answer with “really?”
  • I heard this during the times of “Call Me Maybe”, and I liked it then, still like it now. I love it like an old best friend even if I have never experienced heartbreak before.
  • Candy says, this is a break up song while ultimately trying to get back together with said person, Carly says, she wrote it that way to make it more sincere, and it worked. When I fake perform this in my bedroom I’m almost crying.

Tonight I'm Getting Over You

10. Moon River – Melissa Benoist Cover

  • The film is iconic, and I have high respect for the original songs of my favorite covers, but I just love Marley’s voice. (I mean Melissa)

moon river

Credits to the original owners of the pictures.

So, I’m gonna make the 10 songs a thing now because of my tendency to list random stuff including playlists that I never do on my spotify account because it already has too much playlists.

Also, I notice that there are some songs that have something to do with love that I do not get until I search it, and as much as I connect to them, this is also a testimony on how innocent and naive I still am.

I hope you listen to these songs whether for the sake of it or just to widen you horizons. Have a nice day! 🙂

Leave a comment