Songs That Remind me of City Lights

We all have a lot of moods, don’t we? Or maybe I have one too many.

I just want to share to you some songs that remind me of citylights.

Welcome to New York

  1. Welcome to New York – Taylor Swift

“It’s a new soundtrack, I could dance to this beat

Forevermore

The lights are so bright, but they never blind me.”

 

How can I think of CITY lights without mentioning New York?

city of blinding lights

  1. City of Blinding Lights – U2

“Time won’t leave me as I am,

But time won’t take the boy out of this man

Oh, you look so beautiful tonight

In the city of blinding lights.”

 

The intro of the song is just the perfect sound to the feeling of being mesmerized by city lights.

dont stop believing pascal champion

  1. Don’t Stop Believin’ – Journey

“Strangers waiting

Up and down the boulevard,

Their shadows searching in the night.

Streetlight people,

Living just to find emotion,

Hiding somewhere in the night.”

 

Shout out to the streetlight people everywhere.

ilaw sa daan

  1. Ilaw sa Daan – IV of Spades

“Lahat sila ay nagkakaisa

Tumatalon, sumisigaw,

Humihiyaw ang iba sa kanila.”

 

I found this a unique song about night life but in a viewer’s point of view.

tomboy

  1. TOMBOY – Hyukoh

“You know you can’t immediately put off a burning fire;

I shall cheer for love.”

 

More of a lyrical than a musical choice (haha if you know me all of them are lyrical). The street lights/ city lights’ reference is somewhere there.

sunshine and city lights

  1. Sunshine and Citylights – Greyson Chance

“What you need to find

Is someone who never will let you go

And oh, sunshine and citylights will guide you home

And you ought to know

That I’ll never let you go.”

 

The source of the idea, really.

plans

  1. Plans – Oh Wonder

“I don’t know where the money goes,

I get broke as the city glows,

Shines bright as I sink down low.”

 

This song has a personal connection with me.

bright lights and city scapes

  1. Bright Lights and Cityscapes – Sara Bareilles

“She is bright lights and cityscapes

And landslides and masquerades

And she’ll take all you ever have, but I’m gonna love you

You say maybe it’ll last this time, but I’m gonna love you

You never have to ask, I’m gonna love you

Till you start looking back, I’m gonna love you

So right, I wouldn’t need a second chance.”

 

I just fell in love with this okay, this is just beautiful.

once upon another time

  1. Once Upon Another Time – Sara Bareilles

“Once upon another time,

Deciding nothing good in dying

So, I will just keep on driving

Because I was free.”

 

Yeah, so there weren’t any lights here other than porch lights, but it really did remind me of city lights and long drives.

That rhyme was unintended.

All my pictures aren’t mine, I got them all on Pinterest.

Leave a comment